a tale about a word

Once upon a time, there was a word and this word meant nothing. They told it it would need to work hard to become a real word, with meaning, synonims, a clear definition… Even one day it could turn into capitals. The word was amazed by all the extraordinary possibilities. A whole bunch of opportunities arose every day and as the word grew up it was less and less clear its real meaning and definition. The word wanted to belong to a sentence that didn’t exist. It looked in many places, it searched everywhere and couldn’t find a single sentence to stay in. They said “the sentence is there, go and pick one, you cannot be a single word… You don’t want to stay alone in the dictionary, do you?”

There were so many possibilities, so many words to play with that the word could never decide and dare to be just one.

“Choose one and be” they said, “choose one and keep stick to it, defend it, define it, don’t change it or the others won’t understand.” And the word became anxious about not knowing what to be.

“Where’s my sentence?” the word wondered “I just want to be the word I was meant to be written but with only one meaning? They won’t understand anyway! How can I become one single thing and expect them to understand. How do they know what I really mean? How do they know my ethimology, my origins and my actual message? Maybe I’m not meant to be in capitals, maybe I’m a connector or and adjective”

The word was so anxious about sticking to a single meaning that it decided to become the word with more possibilities of meaning, the most variable, honest, rich and descriptive.

“They will never understand me, anyway” the word knew… “but it’s the only way to not stay in a dictionary alone, to have a real and unique meaning with lots of possibilities, still to be whatever I want and to participate in a sentence that has not been written yet and play with other words.”

And the word became a Name.

chess game

 

*text and photo by Emma Espejo

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a tale about a word

  1. I enjoyed a lot while I was reading this post, thank you!

  2. Nieves says:

    Muy identificada con la palabra en cuestión. Genial el post y muy bonita la foto🙂

Leave a Reply

