Blossoming

Sometimes you get stuck in a creative rut, or you simply have so many things spinning around your head that you can hardly focus on one single thing (I notice that the adverb simply acquires quite an ironic nuance in the sentence I’ve just written!).  It’s like having a group of people all speaking out at once, a cacophony of voices and sounds, and without almost being aware if it you are lost in it.

These last weeks haven’t been much productive in terms of photographs taken, or at least not as much as I would like to – and mostly how I would like to. Indeed I have spent a lot of times reading around blogs, ebooks, even tutorials (I hate tutorials: I know they are useful, but I’m more of a try-do wrong- try again type), looking at beautiful pictures and searching for inspiration. I have also gone to the cinema more often than usual, as well as making plans to redesign my own room and working space. Eventually, brief trips and a few days off from the routine have contributed to make me disconnect for a little while.

I have figuratively been piling up ideas, and now it’s time to start choosing what’s worth keeping and start the practical work. It’s not an easy job. The temptation to keep it all is strong and persuasive, but it won’t do.

Along with the bursting of spring, I am going to get rid of some old things and start others anew. And when the cacophony becomes too loud, I get back to the very essence of my soul and to the pleasures of a good book, a song, or a chat with a friend,  all reminding me of my dreams and goals.

As well as flowers in these time of year, new projects and ideas are blossoming. Summer will follow, but for the moment I am enjoying the thrill of life sprouting again.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blossoming

  1. MJ Donnery says:

    Reblogged this on the peaceful being and commented:
    Finally figured out how to use the “Reblog’ feature on my WordPress toolbar. Thanks to Marta Favro from The Lonely Walker’s Blog for her inspiring work!

  2. Fantastic photos! :-)

    I know what you mean about tutorials. I’m a learn by doing person as well, which means making mistakes is part of the game. I revel in those mistakes because its more about the journey than anything else.

    • Marta Favro says:

      I definitely agree with you. I love learning from direct experience and mistakes are part of the adventure. They are useful and make us face unexpected possibilities. I believe it’s a matter of how we deal with our mistakes: we can take the best from them and tranform the experience into something positive, or just give up. No need to say I prefer the first option, it’s so thrilling! ;-)

      Thank you for your comment!

  3. Dave says:

    Loving the first shot, great depth of field.

  4. fivecats says:

    The cherry blossoms are pretty.

  5. monicadevine says:

    I can almost smell the fragrance just by looking at your photos. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

