Rolleiflex

First of all we’d like to say thank you to WordPress’ staff (because there’s people there) for trusting us again and featuring our blog post on Street Photography on the Freshly Pressed yesterday (second time this happens! 🙂 ). It was a very nice surprise!!! Hence, THANK YOU to all the people who visited, commented, subscribed and joined our eternal conversation about Photography. Truly thanks! We hope to see you around!

Today we wanted to share a beautiful gallery dedicated to the gorgeous Rolleiflex camera (and piece of jewelry) that I found the other day on facebook. This classic (and classy) medium format camera has been used by photographers like Richard Avedon, Diane Arbus, Irving Penn… even Robert Capa took it to war when Leica was the favourite and the “big” Rollei wasn’t the most common war camera.

It made me think about my own, a humble and beautiful, Yashica that I own since a year ago. I must admit I still need to practice some more with it but every time I shoot  I experience this magic in photography. And photography for me is classic and classy (my favourite photographers shot film and they portrayed History as we know it) That made me think we don’t talk much about film (probably because of the lack of experience, which I hope to solve soon) but that doesn’t mean we don’t like it. We’d like to hear your clicks and voices, and know what you have to say about it, what’s your experience, your favourite camera, if you use medium format, etc. Do you enjoy the luxury of shooting with such a piece of jewelry?

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rolleiflex

  1. I have a Minolta Twin Lens Reflex that I experimented with several years ago. However, my Canon 5DMkII produces technically better images that can be enlarged more-or-less as big. Given that the largest I tend to print images is 2ft on the short side (and largest ever was 4ft on the long side), the benefits of the 5D outweigh film by a lot. And, it is less expensive to operate.

    I shoot caves, scientists (in and out of caves), and people in general. For all of this, I am very sold on the benefits of a high-quality digital camera. It probably comes from my documenting science, but I want to be able to know for sure that I have good photos when I leave a place that requires a day of hiking across (long-ago cooled) lava to reach. My experience with film was that I was happy to get one or two good images per roll. I now leave a site with far more known-good images.

    So, to comment on your posting, I think that the photographer behind the camera is far more important than the device used to capture the image. I am sure most people have seen beautiful images produced by someone wielding a point-and-shoot camera; I certainly have. So, if the device you use to make images is one that helps you focus your vision, then it is the correct instrument for you.

  2. Pnyks says:

    Congratulations on being second time freshly pressed! I’ve just discovered your blog a couple of days ago and start enjoying my visits here 🙂 Great pictures, wonderful attitude. Have a great day!

  3. Just found your site via Freshly Pressed! Look forward to following you! Lovely images!

  4. Tim Corr says:

    I love the old Yashica TLRs- they are superbly engineered, a work of art in of themselves. The Rollei’s look even nicer…. *gazes wistfully*

    I shoot a lot of film, having pretty much migrated from digital photography for a few reasons. I like it because of the process – sitting down in the darkroom to make my images is much nicer than sitting in front of the computer screen with RAW files and photoshop. It also helps me appreciate the style of the photographic masters, and how a lot of them worked. It is definitely an “each to their own” sort of thing, but I’m very much smitten with film still.

  5. jon ball says:

    I shoot film when I want to take a timeless, beautiful image. When I need production images, I shoot film. I especially love Rolleiflex and actually shoot with one all the time. Love your self portrait with your Rollei.

Leave a Reply

