Let’s talk about business.

The last few weeks I felt I was too business immersed. Since I arrived from Bristol I was full of energy to move around, move my work, make it visible, etc. etc. And it worked! I didn’t sleep much, I didn’t stop but it worked… I succeeded in some things, I’m waiting for long-term reactions in others but it worked. So I’m pretty happy…

Two weeks ago I attended a congress about Photography which was hosted here in Barcelona, lucky me I was here! I had the chance to meet with other fellow photographers and get to know (and listen) some of the best wedding photographers in Spain. That was amazing as well as encouraging and it charged my battery full of energy.

I was about to talk and share all my excitement and motivation when I realized I’m very business focused, lately… But well… I AM! I am trying to make a living from this so this is business as well! I censored myself (I admit) talking about something else because it felt cold and not “photography” related. But my photography life right now has to do with business… and photography is business, as well… so when you make photographs for others, even when it’s still your photography… it’s business… It’s marketing when you try to sell yourself as well as when you try to create your identity. It’s not only that, it’s much more than that. It’s getting to know you, what you do, what you offer, and how you offer it. It’s knowing what you can do and making others know you. That is business, that is marketing, that is photography, that is LIFE as well… Because working on your own is harder… selling yourself is harder. And I confess… Photography is beautiful but it’s my job and I also need to remember that. No one is going to knock my door because “I’m so good”

So partly, I’m happy and I share it with all of you… because it’s an example of “things can happen”… I always tell whoever asks “you want this? do it!”… it’s hard, but it’s possible…

So forgive my “too business” aspects of my posts… it’s just a way to share and tell how things happen. Because I read many articles from other photographers who discussed the nitty-gritty and encouraged me, led me towards paths I’m walking now. This is Photography, too… depending on how you live it, and here we are, to talk about all aspects of photography. And I’m not going to censor myself any more.

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s talk about business.

  1. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    It’s great that you’re giving all your energy to the thing you love most. I wish you all the best of luck! Your photography is amazing and I am sure that you will find happiness in your chosen path.

  2. dob2010 says:

    Great eye for composition, Emma. Don’t get discouraged, freelancing is tough. But the freedom you can enjoy to pursue your passion is priceless. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

