Meadows (and woods) are the mountaineer’s life

I could have stayed home, drowned in my sofa, relaxing, watching tv or reading a book while sipping a cup of tea. And be lazy. I adore being lazy.  Or I could go out and enjoy a warm and sunny early autumn day. I chose the second, mostly because I could nor really miss such a gorgeous weather. And because there was a photographic exhibition I wanted to see and that was the last weekend until closing.

The exhibition was in a charming Carthusian monastery on the mountains. A very small exhibition, but really worth the visit. As usual I had brought my camera and went for a walk in the roundabouts to take some pics, as in my photo group too we are organizing a new exhibition for the end of October. Corners of the Valley, the same theme of a previous exhibition we did last spring, and part of a bigger project aiming at re-descovering the natural and historical heritage of Valle di Susa.

I’m now choosing the photographs I will exhibit, in the meantime here are a few for you to enjoy.

Autumn is coming with its warm colours and tones… even a simple small branch with some orange leaves can be a real beauty and a joy for your eyes.

“Tourists, meadows are the mountaineer’s life, please respect them.” I remember reciting this sentence every time I went for a walk in the woods as a child. I had learnt it by heart, and still recite it sometimes. These signs are disappearing, but the message is more than relevant still today. And for me they’ll always evoke a joyous part of my life.

I just adore late afternoon light playing with natural elements. Sometimes even simple threads of grass can become richer than gold…

The façade of the monastery guest room, a stone wall enriched with a table and two chairs, vases of flowers and gorgeous warm light reflecting on the window.

Colours are on fire.. how could you not be happy while walking in such fabulous woods?

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meadows (and woods) are the mountaineer’s life

  1. This is a great post and the pictures are amazing!

  2. I also love the woods! Every time I go walking in them I feel happy and at peace! 🙂
    On my blog, there are a few pictures I took while in the woods : http://clearlyhomemade.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/photographic-cards-2/

  3. niceartlife says:

    Gorgeous shots of fall, very nice!

Leave a Reply

