Going on stage… again!

Do you remember when I talked about Theatre Photography a few weeks ago? It all started offering myself to take some photographs of a theatre company while the rehearsal just to get some portfolio and as a favour. Because we should help and share art with people who make art 😉

In that same post I encouraged you to dare and offer yourself to people you know or people you may want to be in contact with… you never know! and the worst-case-scenario would be you never call each other again and you have a wider portfolio. That doesn’t hurt anyone…

My offer went beyond expected and I was asked to attend the rehearsals as the official photographer of the theatre company, that way I have some more work to do and my agenda has less empty gaps, but my name will be somewhere, my photos will be shown somewhere besides my website and gallery and my name will be pronounced by others.

If I had never offered myself as a photographer, I wouldn’t have had this opportunity to work with these people. It’s just a small job but it’s an example of how important it is to keep moving and keep going out and keep showing your work and, most importantly, keep working.

Any similar experience you want to share? How do you promote your work?

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going on stage… again!

  1. I’m still learning the art of marketing. One of my goals for years has been to be considered one of the “cave photographers” people think of when the are heading somewhere nice and want to get good images of it. Therefore, I have been entering the National Speleological Society’s annual print salon, and recently also the projected image salon. This year, I finally did it and got “Best in Show” for a print. And, I have been invited to photograph in caves in Saudi Arabia next year (we’ll see how politics in the region go and if the money actually comes through).

    Now, all I need to do is get local people to know about me for more day-to-day work. I’m working on it, and I’ll post whatever works on my blog when I know it is working.

Leave a Reply

