Fridays are for readers: Sunset Park.

I have three extra piles of books in my room (spread all over the table and the floor) besides all the books in my library… I have no room for books… I have no more floor… But I keep loving them. It’s strange, I’m not reading too much, lately, since some months ago… (a year?) reading only things I need to read (you know… business stuff), some novels here and there… and inspirational income comes basically from Art (films, photography, music, philosophy essays) and chats with friends. And then, suddenly, I make a stupid “challenge” asking myself to read a whole book in a weekend or even in a day! Guess who wins the challenge.

“… but in the end books are not luxuries so much as necessities, and reading is an addiction he has no wish to be cured of.”

This reminds me of one of the last books I read during the last year: Sunset Park by Paul Auster (one of my favourite authors.) It was publish a year ago and when I went to my usual bookstore, grabbed a copy and read the last line. Because I normally do that. And when I buy a book I read the first paragraph, too. Because I once had a teacher who said that by reading the first paragraph you can know if the book is good. I don’t know if it’s true, but it always works. Small detail to fill the “now”. Small things that make other things unique. I liked the book (of course). And bought it (no doubt).

I always keep thinking in that sentence, that very last sentence that doesn’t ruin the end. It only makes you want to fill the day with small details…

“He will stop hoping for anything and live only for now, this moment, this passing moment the now that is here and then not here, the now that is gone forever.”

And then the book is ended forever… but not forever… and I keep living this very moment now… but unlike Miles, I keep hoping…

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Fridays are for readers, Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fridays are for readers: Sunset Park.

  1. I love Paul Auste, though I read only NY Trilogy! I live in Italy, in Padua an my blog is about BOOKS! made of paper and words on page ancd pictures. I love to touch books…

    • Emma Espejo says:

      Hi! Glad you like Paul Auster! The NY Trilogy is really good indeed but I also recommend you other books by him like “The book of illusions”, “Brooklyn follies” or my favourite “Invisible”… you won’t regret it! 😉 Thanks for your comment and for sharing your passion with us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

