Unexpected treasures

I’m not lucky when it comes to the weather. When I plan an excursion or a little trip to take some photos I usually get rain. Lots of rain. And that is why I end up with tons of black and white shots. Don’t get me wrong, I do love black and white.

Last weekend was no exception. I went to the Parc National de la Vanoise (Vanoise National Park) in France and it rained cats and dogs. Did that discouraged me? Well, to be honest yes. But then, who cared? So I put on my jacket and went for some brief walks. With my camera, obviously.

Here are a few – very few – threatening clouds…

Rain is fun. Especially when you are surrounded by a forest. It’s music all around you. Soft, angry, moody, intense, gentle. And rain offers you magnificent little beauties when playing with branches and light. It’s a bit like the willing suspension of disbelief in literature: you see what you thought you might never see, though here it’s completely real. But so beautiful it can’t possibly be true, and it is indeed. Does it make any sense?

Shining and delicate diamonds, brightening up a photographer’s soul

No effort remains without reward

Sometimes you just happen to be there, and press the shutter, hoping to bring home some of that magic, still lingering in your eyes.

P.S. I’ve submitted the last two photographs to a Leica photo contest. If you like them, let us all know! It’s as simple as a click!

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts, Photographie, Round trip tickets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unexpected treasures

  1. I absolutely adore your black and white photos. I also love the lighting within the second to last photo. Gorgeous.

  2. The subdued colors of the next-to-the-last image make it especially pleasing. Well done.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

