MIRRORS: Giovanni (Steve Fay)

1972, Scotland. Currently living in Bristol, UK.

  • Who are you?

Steve Fay however I’m more affectionately known as Giovanni, or Gio for short, in the ‘world of photography’

I was born in 1972, I am Scottish, and am currently living in Bristol, UK.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

I first got into cameras many years ago when I was in the Army, though I did have a break from them for quite a number of years. One day I just got this overwhelming urge to pick one back up again, and here I find myself, never going anywhere without one!

  • What do you write between lines? 

I suppose I want to try and show the world as I see it, how I see other people, the complexity and uniqueness of each individual, the ordinary, and not so ordinary situations that happen in their everyday life, non of my pictures are posed, likewise no permissions are sought, I just want to capture a split second of my subjects life, and also their personality.

  • What can we see in your mirror? 

In my mirror of the world, I see every street as having its own atmosphere, and every person on that street their own personality, that all culminates to give a totally unique ‘one moment in time’ situation, then 10 yards further on it all starts again, it’s an endless barrage of information, energy, and possibilities, and this mess of human life and interaction includes me, taking pictures of it all.

  • Define you in 5 words.

COMPLEX: I am a thinker, and at times a very deep thinker, each image I take is taken for a specific reason, almost like a connection with the subject, but with no connection made at all, other than the image being taken of course.

LOYAL: Simple one really, I am fiercely loyal, my friends are exactly that and foes the opposite!

OBSERVANT: I am constantly, looking, analysing, not only at what’s happening in front of me, but the whole peripheral scope, I have always been that way, it lends itself well to ‘Street Photography’

PERFECTIONIST: It has to be right, whatever I do has to be the best I can possibly do it.

SINCERE: My street style is very ‘proactive’, that said, whilst I am ‘pinching’ a moment of their life without asking them, I have no problem doing it, because I am not there to cause them harm, nor distress them, it isn’t how I work, in most cases after the image is taken I will smile, and normally get one in return, however there is the odd exception!!

  • Define you in 5 pictures.

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“When you photograph people in colour you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in B&W, you photograph their souls!”

“Photographers deal in things which are continually vanishing and when they have vanished there is no contrivance on earth which can make them come back again. ”

“All the technique in the world doesn’t compensate for the inability to notice”. (My personal favourite)

  • Recommend us a photographer.

Ok, just regular guys, but superb photographers with stunning work:

Stephen Wright, whose debt I will forever be in, his work inspired me from the start, and I now have the honour of calling him a friend. A great photographer with superb talent, and a great eye for a shot.  I cannot describe the laughs had on a day shooting the street with him.

He’s on Flickr here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sw6776/

Fade to Gray: Another Steve, again a regular guy, but a great photographer, my sincere thanks also to Steve, I feel privileged to call him a friend, shooting with these guys is an honour and a  pleasure.

He’s on Flickr here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/52126320@N00/

Jonathan Taphouse: Great guy, great photographer, we are pole opposites when on the street, but it is great to see the same street, taken in two different views, always a pleasure to shoot the street with him, and I hope a friend for along time to come.

He’s here on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonathantaphouse/

  • Your motto?

Take the shot, always take the shot, because you’ll kick yourself later if you don’t!

  • Where can we see you?

You can see me here on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/rdj347/

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MIRRORS: Giovanni (Steve Fay)

  1. Pingback: Street Photography: The meaning within the image | Thelonelywalkers' Blog

  2. Boyer Writes says:

    I loved reading this about you and why you are a photographer. Your pictures are simply wonderful.
    I too love photography, but I am first a writer. Since 2009, I have been writing my blog on WordPress. Hope you will read some of my work and maybe even see a photograph or two.
    Writing: http://www.boyerwrites.wordpress.com
    Photography: http://boyergifts.com

    PS My hiusband and I have hopes of visiting Scotland some day. We live in Florida, USA

  3. heyesphoto says:

    Picture #4 is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

