Time brings memories (so shooting film does)

(EDIT: I’m very sorry for the bad quality of the images, they weren’t scanned properly and look worse than printed which looks much sharper. I wish I could show them printed or better scanned but felt the urge to share them^^)

Shooting film is my pending subject. I love it, I should shoot film more often but I don’t. Why? I guess I give it too much value I don’t “dare” to go out and shoot “normal shots”, I want it to be very good and then I start thinking I should learn and then I realize I should learn with practice… isn’t it a contradiction?

I had two cameras with two films to develop: a 35mm from my lovely and dear Pentax Spotmatic (it belonged to my grandfather), and a 120mm from my latest baby, a medium format Yashica 635 I bought a year ago.

I’ve taken too much care of every photo I took, looking for an image that would look nice in film and in that format, not spoiling my eye but training it to look for the photograph. That requires time and time is a good tool to forget and to remember. Time creates memories and brings them back, time makes us value what was forgot and makes us smile (and even cry) when we get back something we thought was gone forever.

My time brought me memories from last year. Pictures I forgot I had taken and even pictures I forgot I had had taken.

My 35mm brought memories of the “snow day” in Barcelona (among others). Barcelona is not too used to snow due to situation the city is in, between and chain of mountains and the sea, so we don’t see too much snow in winter, but in march 2010 the city became completely white. I remembered I took both my cameras, the digital and the analogue, and went out to take pictures. My analogue camera’s photometer was “broken” (actually the battery needed to be changed) and some photographs are a bit burnt but anyway, I’m happy with the result.

My 120mm brings other type of memories. Marta was in Barcelona and we went to spend one day to Cadaqués. I took my “new” Yashica with me and most of the shoots I took with it was there. My surprise was to see that Marta had taken a picture of me ^^ (it’s really nice being surrounded by friends photographers^^) and I didn’t remember it. When I developed both films it was like magic. Time had given me not only images I was very happy with, but memories of those days in which I decided something was so special I felt shooting with my analogue cameras. Portraits I had forgot, people I spent a moment with, rare things happening around (snow), summer days to remember… That is what I think makes film even more special

(taken by Marta Favro)
About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts, Photographie, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time brings memories (so shooting film does)

  1. a beautiful set of images Emma – Viva 35mm !!

  2. Núria says:

    Thanks to recording memories we can remember feelings and sensations once forgotten and, all of a sudden, come to life again! Beautiful Emma!

    • Emma Espejo says:

      Thanks, Núria! I remember when I struggled with the eternal argument, what was more important if taking pictures of a moment lived or make sure you live that moment at its full. Now, after watching these pictures, so many memories come to my mind… and while living these special days now, I have a very strong feeling of keeping them and freeze them in an image to take them with me. I guess we should find the balance between living and recording and then… keeping them saved for a future of memories.

Leave a Reply

