Yellow, orange and a touch of red

Yellow, orange, a little bit of white and a touch of red. The colours of summer, the colours of happiness.

Sometimes you feel discouraged, you happen to live dark moments, especially when you’re just at the beginning of the road you’ve chosen and it’s an every day struggle to make things work right. Indifference, tiredness, sour comments and sideways looks, false promises and broken expectations. Am I painting the whole picture with too dark colours? Maybe I am, but honestly… we all feel really bad at times, so bad as to just give up.

Then you read a few inspiring lines, or hear a song, talk with a dear friend or just see the most splendid sunrise in the world. Or maybe someone rings the bell on your door with a beautiful bouquet and suddenly your life is coloured with yellow, orange and red.

The last option is what happened to me last Saturday. And the last thing I thought was that those flowers were related to photography, my photography.

A few weekends ago I went to the Alpini gathering in Torino, and shot a lot of pictures. During a moment of the gathering an elderly person – and ex-alpino of course – asked me if I could take some photos of his group who were about to march on parade, as the memory card of his camera was full. We exchanged addresses and e-mails, and a few days later I sent him the pictures. He appreciated the photographs so much as to send me flowers. He wrote me an enthusiastic e-mail, I could feel his own happiness in those words.

My world suddenly coloured with warm summer tones, and yes I was flattered (I cannot avoid my ego), but most of all I was so happy to have made this person so happy. I had given him something that was important for him, I had done it with my heart and expected nothing in return.

I had found again a meaning to my photography, the same meaning that had been buried under the weight of dark moments and feelings. I can make people smile, I can create something beautiful. It’s energy running through your spine, it’s magic, it’s yellow, orange and a touch of red.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

