Fridays are for readers: Fine Art Wedding Photography

I’m not too much in the mood of reading novels, lately. I really don’t know why and it’s starting to annoy me, but I can’t go further than the 60th page of a novel… I think my head decided to take a break from reading a lot during the past five years (although “too much” should never be applied to reading) or maybe it’s because I have too many things in my head that no story can really catch my attention.

No stories catch my attention but that is not applied to other type of books. This week I decided I wanted to talk about my last acquisition: Jose Villa’s Fine Art Wedding Photography. If you’re not a wedding photographer, don’t worry… it’s really Art so you may like it.

Jose Villa has been one of my latest discoveries and my greatest influence and inspiration in Wedding Photography… because he’s finally showed me what I was trying to believe: wedding photography can also be Art. He started as “another photographer” as we all have and developed his career till becoming one of the finest wedding photographers, loyal to his style and creating his own and unique touch.

His book is a little chat with him, reading how he talk about his love for light, colour and film. Yes, he shoots film and that’s one of his greatest marks as a photographer. He talks about his work and how he looks at it, how he composes his photographs and plays with light. He shares his tips, lessons learnt and advices to become what you want to become. He talks about people, weddings and all the details, because all those little details have also made him one of the most published wedding photographers in magazines. And he knows how to take care of the details.

If you’re not a wedding photographer but still a photographer, this book is very useful to get into a photographer’s head and know about a very personal relationship with light. If you’re not a photographer… well… the pictures you can enjoy in it are just little pieces of (wedding) Art. For my part I can only say I love this little piece of endless inspiration.

* All pictures by Jose Villa
About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Fridays are for readers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

