The language of light

In these last weeks I’ve been thinking about me as a photographer and about my photography as well. I haven’t come up with a conclusion yet, but I’m trying to tidy up the little mess that these last years have been. Most of all I’m looking at my photographs from my very first steps and attempts, the path that I’ve walked so far and the road that I still have to go through.

I’m very proud of what I’ve done, and I can finally say that I have found my voice, especially when it comes to naturalistic photography. I still have so much to learn in this specific field, but when I hold my camera in the middle of Mother Nature’s beauties I feel self confident now, enjoy the process of shooting, and I am able tell my vision of those gifts. I just wish I had more time to travel! 😉

Now I want to go further. I want to explore other fields and learn to tell other stories. I want to dive into new waters and see what will come up. I am excited and a bit doubtful too: will I be good enough? Will I find my way through this maze that all new beginnings are?

I remember my very first Spanish classes at University, literally starting from the abc and the basics of grammar, and me wondering when I would be able to form sentences and speak it a little fluently. I felt all the burden of starting to study a new language, the difficulties but also the thrill to discover new sounds, words, meanings. And here I am now, speaking it every day, and feeling this language as a part of me and of who I am.

Photography is not so much different from languages. It has its rules and exceptions, its codes and meanings. To master it, you need time, patience, curiosity and perseverance. It’s the language of light, and I am eager to learn more and more its grammar and poetry.

Two tiny flowers growing at 2000 mt of height, persevering, struggling and offering their shy grace… they remind me that even the most challenging situations hide beauty and joy… you just need to have the eyes to see them.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

