Barcelona: a call to life

Barcelona is my second home. Sometimes I think it is Home, with capital “h” and without further adjectives nor definitions.

Last year I was asked how I saw it, what my vision of it was. When I think about Barcelona I think about life. How you walk through its street and – even though alone – you never feel lonely. You feel life rushing through the city, a constant desire to move, imagine and create.

Every time I travel to Barcelona it’s like a rebirth, awakening from the stillness of a town – and I am afraid to say so – a country that have lost all power of imagination and willingness to innovate and recreate itself. Torino – and Italy – are losing their battle with change and youth.

Barcelona is like a deep breath, fresh air coming through the window. It’s facing the crisis determined to impose itself as a city of possibilities and ideas. Art still has a place there. Youth is the future and its present strength. Change is the rule.

I write these words and feel like I’m there, breathing and feeling its soul. It’s a travel of the heart, because there I have found amazing friends. People full of ideas and dreams, facing reality and its problems with confidence, curiosity and determined to succeed. People with great souls, hearts and minds. That’s the main reason why I call Barcelona home.

I remember the first time I went there, it was right after I finished University, my gift for graduation. It was love at first sight. I was captured by its colours and sounds, the morbid lines of the buildings, the bursting of life all over you. Coming from a grey and squared town, my first travel there meant breaking all rules of order and habits. Trip after trip, I never get tired of this incredible city, capable to surprise me every time, revealing her peculiar charm time after time.

I sometimes think about moving there. Abandon the place that I still call home (after all I was born and grew up here close to Torino), despite all its negative sides. Maybe I am infected by the same virus too, unable to move and change.

Barcelona challenges me to face myself and my desires, teaches me to risk and jump into the void. It’s a source of inspiration and it’s my call to life.

This photo was taken during my Christmas holidays in 2009, a clear and beautiful winter morning. Ready to start exploring the city, I stopped for a moment on my way down from Montjuic and filled my eyes with this view of Barcelona… waking up, facing a new day…

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts, Round trip tickets, Torino - Barcelona and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

