Lifting the weights of too high expectations

So here I am again, back at my laptop and writing new posts, working at some photos after our week break.

Apart from a horrible cold and a sore throat that have held me in hostage for the entire week, I had to take a break from all this and concentrate on myself. Take a step back and looking from the outside at the whole thing (or at least part of it). Just like Emma wrote in a previous post, I had to remind myself the smaller map.

It’s all so thrilling, our path as photographers, this project and how it is growing, the people we are getting to know, the collaborations… it is all very exciting and our expectations are high (we don’t deny it, and why should we? 😉 ), but sometimes we get a bit lost in it. I don’t deny that time is my main concern. I wish I had 32-hour days, and I wish I didn’t fall “mortally” asleep at 11 pm during my working days! I want to do so much, learn and experiment, share and discover!

When you forget about your smaller map, you inevitably collapse. You lose yourself among all the things you do and would like to do, and this is when your anxiety and expectations win the battle. So you stop, take a deep breath and look at all this from the outside. You open the window, let the light caressing your face, the wind softly blowing inside, turning the pages of the book you are reading.

It’s easy to forget that we can decide how, when and what to do. Where to go. There is no hurry, you have to keep going at your own pace, ignoring your expectations when they over-grow. You create your map, but you must keep it small. Not only because if it’s too big you will get lost, but also because life surprises you when you least expect it.

And at the end of the day you will find out that it’s a journey with no real map… no need to worry, your passion will guide you through the path. The road is there for you to take, no matter how long it will take or where you will end up…

This is one of my favourites photographs, taken last summer in South France. I love its light and warm tones, and most of all the road leading to where your imagination will take you… or even where you had never imagined to arrive.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lifting the weights of too high expectations

  1. Alessandro says:

    That is exactly the way I enjoy my bike rides. Yes I put a pin somewhere to pretend having a goal, but the fun is in freely choosing a daily path…
    Well, I’d be glad to have a sort of open project the way you have got, perhaps I should take a break myself and rediscover what I used to name “external vision”; too much time has passed since I took my last real, long break.
    Lucky me, I can have micro-breaks here and there, cause I live my life without feeling pressure: no need for extra hours, I’m not in a hurry! 🙂

    • Marta Favro says:

      Yes, lucky you… I always crave for extra-hours! 😉 But as you wrote, the joy is choosing a daily path, withouth constrictions nor expectations. All the good “hides” in the making, not in the goals we want to reach. It’s a path of discovery and surprises, there’s no hurry! 🙂
      Thanks a lot for your comment, Alessandro! 😀

Leave a Reply

