MIRRORS: Matej Slezak

1987, Olomouc, Czech Republic.

  • Who are you?

Photographer, drummer of Czech band called Two Men and student of law. I love my family, friends, photography, music and dogs. I don’t like stupid people, hot weather, strawberry yoghurt and cats.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

I’ve always loved photography and my big wish was to have a SLR. But it was so expensive for me as a young boy so I had to wait for a few years… And one day I bought myself my great old d80 which has been my good friend till today. I bought my DSLR at the end of 2008 and started to take pictures mores seriously from that time. Lately, I love taking pictures with my old cameraphone k800i and sometimes with my lomo lca.

  • What do you write between lines?

I don’t write anything knowingly between lines and that’s also one of the reasons why I don’t give any names to my pictures.  If somebody sees something between lines of some of my pictures, then that person is welcome to name my picture as he/she wants.

I don’t like when I see someone’s picture and there’s a poem or lyrics or some text connected to it. I like to create my own story behind the pictures made by others and if I want to know something about the picture there’s nothing better than ask the photographer who took it.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

Photography is kind of my diary, even of I don’t take pictures every day. I take pictures of what I love and I think that this is my own way to share my “small world” with the outside world. There’s nothing bigger behind my photography. At least I think so…

  • Define you in 5 words.

PEOPLE: I love to spend time with people. Observe them, talk with them, photograph them…

INDIVIDUALITY: on the other hand I love to and need to be all alone time to time.

DISCOVER: new people, music, places, food, movies…

ART: I love art in all forms. Photography, design, paintings, nature… I simply love to look at beautiful things. And I’m trying to find beauty in everything/everybody. Photography helped me in this a lot. I really see the world with different eyes now.

FUN: trying to have fun all the time. This point is actually a mixture of the previous four points. 🙂

  • Define you in 5 pictures

narcotic fields

b.

the ecstasy of saint theresa

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

I can’t think of any. Not that I’m too unique a person to describe or something, but all the quotes that come to my mind are just  big clichés…

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

Ok, let’s stay in Czech Republic. We had big names like Frantisek Drtikol or Josef Sudek in the past. From contemporary artists I can name Antonin Kratochvil, Jan Sibik or great world-known documentary photographer with whom I had the honor to exhibit in a collective exhibiton, Jindich Streit.

  • Your motto?

I don’t have any.

  • Where can we see you?

my photostream: www.flickr.com/photos/matabum

my blog focused on portrait photographers: Mad About Portraits

(Do you want to be a “lonely walker”? We want to interview you! Write us at thelonelywalkers[at]gmail.com!!)
This entry was posted in About Photography, Mirrors, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MIRRORS: Matej Slezak

  1. I just checked out your Flickr stream, some beautiful work there Matej !!

    Thanks for sharing ^_^

Leave a Reply

