MIRRORS: Gabriela Herman

1981, Boston, MA USA (born)  Brooklyn, NY (live)

  • Who are you?

I am a photographer. I like to think of my experience with photography as a puzzle where I’m constantly adding new pieces to form a collective whole. I started in high school, where I would spend most of my afternoons slaving away in the darkroom, jamming to my Discman. When in college at Wesleyan University, I began shooting for the school newspaper and working as a darkroom assistant. While studying abroad, I broadened my knowledge adding more pieces to the puzzle. I moved to Mexico for a semester and was introduced to the color darkroom. In São Paulo, I learned the history of photography from an old Brazilian master. In Salvador, Bahia, I turned to documentary work. After college I moved to Sao Paulo and it was there that I decided to pursue a career in the field. From that moment I have completely invested myself in that pursuit. After working with several acclaimed Brazilian photographers I made the move to New York and started again from scratch. It has now been three and a half years that I have been living as a freelance photographer in the city.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

Since I began photographing, I have always insisted on being in front of the lens, becoming part of the construction of my images. Photography has become my therapy, an exclusive dialogue between myself and the camera where we push each other to a point of exhaustion, both emotionally and physically. My work reveals this intimate process which I invite the viewer to partake in. In my portraiture, as I approach other subjects, I take this comfort with me and try to recreate the same intimate setting. This process from subject to intimate confidant is what drives me to keep creating.

  • Define you in 5 words.

PASSIONATE: I love what I do. love! love where I live. love the people around me.
SPONTANEOUS: I will pick up and go anywhere at any time, having 2 passports helps that.
GO-GETTER: I love taking advantage of all the opportunities around me, especially living in NYC. I’ve even done the no-pants subway ride!
FOODIE: kitchenware kinda excites me
DAUGHTER/SISTER: family is everything

  • Define you in 5 pictures.

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

Manjari Sharma, Justine Reyes, Carey Kirkella, Amy Stein, Kris Graves,

  • Your motto?

Think big, start small

  • Where can we see you?

www.gabrielaherman.com

www.gabherman.tumblr.com

www.gabrielaherman.com/blog

I have an exhibit that will be on view in New York starting on Feb 10th in Soho.

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Photographie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

