“positivando” Barcelona

(First of all let me explain the title since I’m happy I got to it after a few minutes trying to resume all the written below and some of you won’t understand. It’s made out of the word “positivar” which means (from Spanish) to develop a negative film into a positive film. I “changed” (as if I could) the meaning to “to make something positive” which makes sense with the context you’re about to read. That was it!)

Spring is one of my favourite seasons. As flowers bloom so do I and together with the fresh and still cool mood but starting to feel the warm breeze, enjoying the touch of a light shirt on my skin and the shy sun staying till later… Spring is home of my favourite memories… and even when some didn’t happen in Spring, I always place them among the sweet and salted smell of April…

It’s not spring yet but today I started to feel like it. I had planned talking about Barcelona and I had to go back to spring… my spring, because it’s the moment I enjoy the city the most and, today, I wanted to talk (or try to) positively about it.

I was born in Barcelona 26 years ago and since then I’ve fed a contradictory feeling of “friendship” (I’m not going to say “love”) and hate with my own city. What do I hate from Barcelona? Probably just some memories. I sometimes find it too dirty. I sometimes don’t like the people. I think it’s just because it’s my city and I have the right to dislike it. But spring is something else, it is even capable to change my grumpy mood and my wish to live somewhere else (which I hope I never lose)

But Barcelona is beautiful, actually. I love visiting it through the eyes of a foreign friend, taking my time to see it again, to introduce myself again and apologize for my blindness (figuratively speaking.) I really enjoy seeing its many faces and take its hand to feel at home. Last spring was a magic one when (being a “lonely walker” already, which helped a lot) I rediscovered  all the streets hiding behind too many prejudices, crossed the barrier and the walls of new places, in good company, which is the best way to get lost. This way I can enjoy the city, I can feel proud of it and tell all the stories tattooed on her walls. It determines my photography, my vision… the way I portray the city and any other city.

Enjoying the memories from spring 2010, I’m looking forward to spring 2011 as I’m looking forward to a visit, soon^^, which I’ll certainly place in my “memories from Spring 2011” box.

I like Barcelona, but just like a “love/hate” relationship it will come to an end at some time. It strangely makes me be more proud of it.

(one of my favourite streets, just for the secrets it hides, it was “discovered” in March 2011)

This is an introductory post to talk about Barcelona. Like Marta mentioned before, we’re planning a surprise very soon and it has a lot to do with our cities.

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts, Torino - Barcelona and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “positivando” Barcelona

  1. Lalu says:

    Mmmm… Sé on és aquest lloc, i també amaga un dels meus racons preferits ;).
    Acabo de descobrir el vostre blog; molt interesant!!

Leave a Reply

