“Bloggers”

I remember someone told me once that the world was starting to be watched through a computer’s screen instead of touched and smelt, that the strangers were becoming friends with a nickname and no past and that the current world was being exposed to the unknown instead of being enjoyed and breathed. Well… I don’t remember if someone told me all this or if they were my own words to someone while moving my hands frantically in a café… anyway it’s something to think about.

The world “indoors” has become the window to others’ lives and, although some of us keep hanging out and splashing in the puddles…….

… our computer has become the link to discover new lives and worlds that may become our future.

American photographer Gabriela Herman has inverted that window to show real bloggers’ life. Millions and millions of blogs are being written from all the corners of the world. Millions and millions of writers are looking forward to the end of the day when they put on their most comfortable suit and open this new window to the world. Their own places are also “corners of the world” and so did Gabriela think, they represent what we all are made of, in our nests, in our places, in our intimacy, in our most intimate and vulnerable self and yet, we’re opened to the whole world.

This post was recently inspired by Herman’s project “bloggers” while chatting in the internet with a friend of mine who was in a train heading home… in another country … and really… food for thought. Are we really aware of this new “communication” phenomenon?

Who are you in front of your computer?

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Bloggers”

  1. Jonathan says:

    an interesting post Emma, the world sure is changing fast.

  2. Amy says:

    It is so strange to read this with the memory in mind of a conversation had just last night- I sat in my insular world of a various iPod playlist, reading some of my own scribbles when I was asked the time by a recent traveller to join the higher level of the bus. I answered then hesitated to re-insert my headphones as I felt rude and like all other separated individuals within this shared vessel of travel. Thr conversation turned to my headphone colour then spiralled into an insane conversation about the Internet and those who use/abuse it. The conclusion reached took form around the delight this gent had for sharing conversation (albeit for just 6 minutes it so) with an actual person… Apt and interesting…

    • Emma Espejo says:

      Absolutely… apt and interesting.

      Sometimes I think if the new era is actually good (guess it depends on its use? like always). It seems we connect ourselves to other unknown spots in the world and close our eyes to the world that is really there, to the people that is there waiting to talk with us, to the smile that is looking at us in a train or just across the street. I sometimes miss my moments of silence… but just missing them makes me go back to them so I don’t lose them any more… because sometimes, the perfect moment is when you are “there” and no one else knows… I think we should “accept” that we are “alone” (for good, too)

      like my “personal” genius, John Fowles, once said:

      “Yet this distance, all those abysses unbridged and then unbridgeable by radio, television, cheap travel and the rest, was not wholly bad. People knew less of each other, perhaps, but they felt more free of each other, and so were more individual. The entire world was not for them only a push or a switch away. Strangers were strange, and sometimes with an exciting, beautiful strangeness. It may be better for humanity that we should communicate more and more. But I am heretic, I think our ancestors’ isolation was like the greater space they enjoyed: it can only be envied. The world is only too literally too much with us now.”

      Are we really showing ourselves? Or just individuals hiding?

  3. Connie T says:

    Maybe that is why countries are protesting and wanting more rights. They have a window to the word and can see how other people live and other places. It makes everyone closer and lets you get to read and know what other people are like. Who am I, I put it all in my blog.

  4. This is a good read…

Leave a Reply

