MIRRORS: Alicia Rey

1989. Barcelona, Spain. (I live in a village far from the city – I hope I always stay far from it)

  • Who are you?

Alicia Rey. I study, work, blahblahblah…

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

I discovered my hobby stealing my boyfriend’s camera. He was working as an event photographer (weddings, bautisms, etc…) by that time (five years ago). I didn’t have my own SLR camera for three years and, anyway, I had an active life as a photographer.

  • What do you write between lines?

When I take a photograph I don’t normally think about what I want to show in it. After some time, when I look at them again and I pay attention I can see a meaning that matches with the moment I took the picture. Or may people get other meanings which make me rethink about that picture. It mostly happens with selfportraits. It scares me, sometimes.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

I’m still developing so I couldn’t say I have only one mirror. I guess I’m a teenager on photography: nice colours, dreamy light… beauty everywhere. I guess my photography will mature one day, but this is what I’m doing now. I’m investigating and seeking.  I admire those photographers, younger than me, who take those deep picture which leave you in state of shock.

  • Define you in 5 words.

DISORDER: It’s so hard for me to get rid of something that evokes a memory, a moment gone or a funny memory; that I have all my drawers, wardrobes, bags, etc., full of all the things that happened in my life (from books, notes, draws, train tickets, metro tickets, bus tickets, documents, pictures, objects, toys…) It’s so impossible to arrange my belongings that the only way to put some order in my daily routine is leaving my room, installing myself in another one and declaring the first one as a museum.

MUSIC: I feel very linked to the music world. I sing, play the guitar, the ukulele (my way!), I spend the whole day listening to music, I’m in some musical projects and my weekends are based on rehearsals and concerts. Literally, I wouldn’t be able to live without music…

TRAVEL: If I could, I’d live every month in a different country. By luck or misfortune I took the trip of my life too early and I DEMAND MORE now.

INDEPENDENCE: Exactly what I don’t have and what I’d most love.

BEAUTIFUL THINGS: I like beautiful dresses, beautiful cats, beautiful  drawings, I cry listening to The Beatles and I get goose bumps with almost everything (truly!)

  • Define you in 5 pictures (yours)

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

Well… a song by Kings of Convenience says a lot:

I see you changing girl
From day to day
Impressed by and trying to imitate
Those who are older
Those who are colder
Suddenly embarrassed by your age

Our bigger blessing, girl
Is being young
The power of not knowing
Where you belong

I try so hard to keep it
Not to lose that secret
Waiting for someone like you
To come along

Maybe it was me
That made you old
Stole whatever it was that
Made you glow
A little touch of something
A lot of work for nothing
And now our heart, once open,
Will be closed

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

www.annettepehrsson.se

www.marc.topo.bz

www.ibaiacevedo.com

www.flickr.com/photos/alvertigo/

There’re plenty of great photographers on flickr.

  • Your motto?

Thank God I’m a country boy!

  • Where can we see you?

www.aliciarey.com

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MIRRORS: Alicia Rey

  1. Oh, I love this. I love it so.

    I love this whole blog. I love your photos. I love you.

    And now I sound creepy so I’ma go.

Leave a Reply

