MIRRORS: Daniel Garzee

1990.Vigo, España– Madrid

  • Who are you?

I’m a human being who feels and suffers and who can’t help letting know and give expression to everything he’s got in his head. I’m the one you bump into in the the street because he’s looking up at the clouds with very wide open eyes. I’m my greatest personal project. I’m the project of my life.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

My great “friend” Chance. I had always looked at the world through theatre, dancing and music. Chance made me take a camera in 2008.

  • What do you write between lines?

I write my life. I can’t write about anything else. Everything that surrounds me in my daily life is what I can talk about. Streets, lights, cities, moods, characters, people.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

My vision, my reality. The way I understand life.

  • Define you in 5 words.

PERSON: It’s not out of line to make clear the innate condition that I’m a person.

FRIEND: It’s a fundamental part in my life, friendship. Without it, I’d be lost.

LOVE/LACK OF LOVE: Otherwise, why living?

MUSIC: Creating a sound track of my live is essential to me. Everything is music.

SILENCE: It’s the/my most important sounds.

  • Define you in 5 pictures.

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“When you look at my photographs you are looking into my mind.” Duane Michals

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

No doubt Duane Michals. He’s my favourite photographer. When I started with photography I had the need to add texts to my pictures, I thought it was crazy (keep in mind that when I started, as mentioned before, it was all about “chance”. I had never looked for anything about photography nor about photographers) When I started to investigate I found him and I had an instantaneous connection with his work. He mixes text and image in a incredibly way. After watching his work I dared to do it and in a more generic way, I dared to do anything I wanted with photography.

  • Your motto?

“Red caverns for polychromatic painters”

(free interpretation)

  • Where can we see you?

In the internet there’re plenty of places, all are named the same way, either the blog, facebook, flickr, everything: Daniel Garzee. So you just have to google my name.

My photographic work: www.flickr.com/danielgarzee

My writings: www.danielgarzee.blogspot.com

I’ll be in Madrid this year, but I’m like a weather vane so I may go to another city next year (or tomorrow.)

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

