MIRRORS: Davinia Muñoz Quero

1986. Málaga, España. Fuengirola

  • Who are you?

I am Lunares (spanish word for moles). But I’m Octubre (October), as well. I’m Lunares when I feel brave, when I strongly step on the city’s paving stones, when my black eyes are able to go through the strongest armor. I’m Lunares when I go out to burn up the streets, when I make noise to finish with the fucking silence, when “if I get closer to you, I make you smile.”

But I’m Octubre, as well… I’m Octubre when I gag my heart to keep it still so it doesn’t cause sanguine tidal waves, when I run away from any hand that tries to entwine with mine, when I disappear if I feel that I’m starting to make a person my most important cardinal point (my north), when I reivindicate my right to fly and when I repeat at nauseam that the remaining months in the calendar go behind or ahead of me, but never beside me. And you, could you tell who I am?

  • What is it that took you to write your world with words?

Words. There’s a moment in literature in which either you are very good or you need help to illustrate what you’re trying to convey. That is how everything started.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

Each one of us sees things in a different way. It all depends. In fact, the very same person sees the same situation in a different way depending on the circumstances. I wanted to record what I see in the precise moment when I take the picture. To remember it afterwards…. because I’m an creature of memories. Besides, shaped words get better to the soul. My photographs were born to be the little sister of my texts.

  • What do you write between lines?

I write silenced shouts. I write those words I don’t dare to pronounce in person. I write my scars and the others’ scars (which hurt me more than I’m willing to admit) I write my contradictions. My soul is written between lines. But they are very few the ones who get to read this kind of writing.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

A world filled with looks full of everything. A world with barely empty corners. A world of caresses and whispers, of tickling at the back of your knee, of the carousel’s inertia, a world where it’s shown what each one wants to show, just like that… a world where the word “problem” is substituted by the word “poem”.

  • Define you in 5 words.

ADAPTABLE: I adapt myself to the circumstances. If I didn’t, I would have fallen on the way.

DISCREET: I’ve always said: “lack of discretion is not in the question but in the answer” or “I’m more worthy for what I keep to myself rather than for what I say”

AMBITIOUS: It can be positive or negative. But I am ambitious. I don’t conform. I always want to go a step further on. I always have something in my head, something I want to achieve. And I don’t stop until I get it.

COMPLICATED: My character is too strong and a bit changeable. So I’m very complicated. For me, two plus two is not four.

LEADERSHIP: I have the soul of a leader. This is a fault. I try to rule the roost, to be the one in charge, the one who suggests…

  • Define you in 5 pictures.

  • Which character would you be in a novel?

This is a very complicated question…

Adela Teldi (Pequeñas Infamias -Little Indiscretions) because of that great sentence: “love is eternal while it lasts. I will always love you till 8pm.”

Lolita (Lolita), because I think I have something of her inside me. I’ve always thought that.

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“Don’t tell me about landscapes if you haven’t seen her body…” by Escander Algeet.

Why? I’m not sure… I guess it’s because when I fall in love (it hasn’t happened too often) no landscape is as spectacular as my partner’s among wrinkled sheets.

  • Recommend us a book/writer (or as many as you want!)

Pequeñas Infamias (Little Indiscretions) by Carmen Posadas.El desorden de tu nombre (The Disorder of Your Name) by Juan José Millás.Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

Tokyo doesn’t Love Us Anymore by Ray Loriga

    • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/suspendidosenelaire/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bordons

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/andrewknowles/

    for example…

    • Your motto?

    Nowadays, revolutions are about doing things right.

      • Where can we read you?

      http://octubremellaman.blogspot.com

      http://historiasquenuncateconte.blogspot.com

      • Where can we see you?

      www.daviniaquero.com

      www.flickr.com/me_llaman_octubre

      (Do you want to be a “lonely walker”? We want to interview you! Write us at thelonelywalkers[at]gmail.com!!)

      This entry was posted in Literature, Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

      Leave a Reply

      