Mirrors: Manuel Ramos

1985. Seville, Spain

  • Who are you?

A seeker. A walker. A dreamer. A kid…

I know what I wanted to be. I know what I don’t want to be. I’m clear about how I want to be. The truth is I don’t have the answer to this question. I’m undetermined. Fine.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

My father. He was the one who made sure I learnt through looking; he used to talk and I looked. He took photographs and spoke well, I looked with big eyes and the camera seemed the most beautiful one I had ever looked at. It was natural the way he took less photographs to talk more as I was feeling comfortable looking at the world through a lense. With the camera in my hands I soon learnt the distance between looking and seeing. The feeling of seeing after looking is addictive. It makes you feel closer to when you were a child.

  • What do you write between lines?

I don’t have a message. I don’t have a discourse explaining what I do and why I do it with photography. You can find a lot of myself in my pictures, but not all. I don’t think you can get to know me or to understand me with what you see in my pictures. Some time ago, there was a lot of music, I was very influenced by music and I tried to take photographs out of the music I was listening to. Not anymore. There is no music that way, it’s lost.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

I’m interested in people (individuals), not the people. I like talking to them, I like them talking to me and I like looking at them. If we tear a little bit of skin and we move under it I want to freeze it. I want a picture working as a key, waking my memory up and reviving the memory of that tear. Some times, that happens to be people in my photographs and some other times it’s their absence. For me, this is all a matter of people (individuals).

  • Define you in 5 words.

MUSIC: My transport. It takes me wherever I want, whenever I want. Without it I wouldn’t be the way I am. You could know me from music.

CITY: I’m a city dweller. The city is my actual passion. I’m going to dedicate my life to it. With it, you should make people happy, the city is capable of making them dream.

PASSION: I don’t know how to act without it. If there is no passion it isn’t worth it. It is the motor of all my interests. Renews my hope.

SKIN: (…)

NIGHT: I’m a night person. I lose all notion of time when the sun vanishes. My head works more and better. I find all the magic missing in my days at night.

  • Define you in 5 pictures.

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

I don’t keep quotes that dissect my personality. There is a lot of music with which I suffer big encounters and misunderstandings. But I’m not going to report that today.

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

I like photographs that hold you tight inside and don’t leave you, the ones that make your heart miss a beat. They may be pictures that achieve that through its plasticity or that beat me with a memory. I admire those photographers who know how to look into people and show them to you in a photograph. I find these feelings in women’s work easily, women photographers. Women have a way to show other women that it will never be as men do. Our differences are wonderful. I’ve always liked Annie Leibovitz very much, but I think I’m not going to make anyone discover her, now.

  • Your motto?

It’s not late, it’s early.

  • Where can we see you?

In person, in Seville, although I try not stopping for too long.

In the internet, here: www.flickr.com/photos/suspendidosenelaire/

(Do you want to be a “lonely walker”? We want to interview you! Write us at thelonelywalkers[at]gmail.com!!)

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

