Mirrors: Emma Espejo

1985. Barcelona, Spain.

  • Who are you?

I’m someone who happens to be a woman. I’m a dreamer who dreams with her future cat named Gato. I love cooking (for me and for others). I’m a tv series freak. I like feeling the freezing breeze on my face and I like how hats suit me. I do too many things. I tend to suffer from Stendhal’s syndrome. I love literature. I’m a city girl who is not scared of spiders. I love books and I take notes and underline paragraphs when reading them. I like buying books too much. I’m a permanent student and teacher. I love to love and live. I remember people from their smell. I want to change some things. I’m just someone preparing herself to be a literature teacher and a photographer. I’m the result of all my life…

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

I always liked taking photos and trying to do it “artistically” but it never was too serious. In 2007 my brother got married and he asked me to take his wedding photos. My father bought a “good” camera so I could take the pictures and afterwards he gave it to me. I started taking lots and lots of pictures and taught myself how to improve. Got into flickr and learned a lot there as well as I met amazing and inspiring people. That is the “technical” beginning. Actually I always dreamed of looking at the world through a lense. When I was a teen I wanted to be a film director and writer (you know… writing your own scripts…) I loved movies and knew everything about them. I bought a video camera with my first salary (being 18) and tried to do a few videos but never succeeded. Some years after my obsession with the film industry, I found photography and found out that what I really wanted was capturing a feeling, a moment, in images. So then it comes the written above.

  • What is it that took you to write your world with words?

A need, I guess….

  • What do you write between lines?

Myself. I’m not in my pictures or my writings but I’m somewhere between the lines. I write stories, I ask questions, I find answers. I construct and deconstruct puzzles. For me, the original meaning is between the lines. And that is one of the reasons why I tend to take pictures in black&white, because black&white is a tool to tell stories, with no colours giving extra information or acting as elements that interfere on the essence. I can see the light, perceive the shadows and the lightness. For me it’s pure and also quite classy which I like.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

My mirror is pretty melancholic. I’m a melancholic person no matter how happy I am and how “clowny” I act. I’m a optimist doomwatcher. My mirror tends to be a bit sad and show sadness but seeking hope, because hope resides in nice sadness. So, despite of that “blue” mood, my mirror is full of hope and dreams. Because actually I’m happy.

  • Define you in 5 words. (write five words and make a definition of what that word means to you -with each-)

HONESTY: It’s the most important thing to me, what really makes me happy. I’m working very hard on being honest to myself because that’s the only way to be who I really am. To the question “what do you want to do with your life?” I answer: “to be honest.”

DREAMER: I’m a dreamer but I’m starting to be realistic which means I’m starting to see my dreams can be real (and ARE real)

INDIVIDUAL: It’s one of my subjects, in my work as a photographer and as researcher. The individual, the soul, the human being. It’s become kind of my religion and my philosophy, my vision, my focus.

CITY: I’m a city person. I can be surrounded by nature and I LOVE nature, but I’m an urban animal. I love taking pictures of streets with someone walking lonely… and here I’d go back to the “individual” and his relation with the rest of the world, his individuality, etc etc.

PHOTOGRAPHY: Obvious. But it really definitely defined me. It has helped me to learn who I am, to know the world and to get to know people. Definitely it’s my way to look at the world and I can’t help making it part of my daily life.

  • Define you in 5 pictures (yours)

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“you can do anything you like, you lucky bastard, you’re alive! What’s a little pain compared to that?” “It can’t be so simple” “what if it is?” (Six feet under)

“What is the meaning of life? That was all- a simple question; one that tended to close in on one with years, the great revelation had never come. The great revelation perhaps never did come. Instead, there were little daily miracles, illuminations, matches struck unexpectedly in the dark; here was one” Virginia Woolf, To the lighthouse.

“One day I will find the right words and they will be simple” Jack Kerouac

“Mrs.Dalloway said she’d buy the flowers herself.” Virgina Woolf, Mrs. Dalloway

“Your life is yours to create” Robert C. Solomon

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

Henri Cartier-Bresson and Richard Avedon (my basics)

  • Your motto?

I don’t want the day I die to arrive and think “I wanted to do that and never did”

  • Which character would you be in a novel?

Mrs. Dalloway, Sarah Woodruff (The French Lieutenant’s Woman) and Lily Briscoe (To the lighthouse)

  • Recommend us a book/writer (or as many as you want!)

Authors: Paul Auster, John Fowles and Virginia Woolf are my favourites.

Books: Ivisible by Auster (any Auster, actually), any Fowles, To the lighthouse by Woolf, Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi, The catcher in the rye by Salinger, Le petit prince by Antoine de Saint-Éxupery,  L’étranger by Albert Camus, etc.

  • Where can we read you? (If you don’t have anything published -blog, website…- feel free to join a little text or a fragment)

You should read my moleskines which is pretty impossible, but you can also check my blogs, especially my project “…ellipsis…

  • Where can we see you?

At my place, in my desk, in my kitchen, at the metro, in my favourite teashop and in the internet:

my flickr

my blog

my book

here…

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

