Silly things are important.

It’s funny. I’m always confidant of declarations and passions. I like when friends (or just people who think I may understand) tell me the sentence “it’s silly, you may laugh but I love….” (and whatever is their favorite feeling) and I never laugh. For me that is the best part of life!

Yesterday I was talking to Marta and we were discussing something… a “silly” thing… something she loves. And she added “it’s not important”…. my reaction to that was “of course it’s important! it makes you happy!”. Important things should be those that make us happy, not those that make us worry. Pay more attention to those little tiny things you enjoy doing and give it some importance to keep them in your daily life.

I love: laughing out loud (like, really… you can hear me…), moving A LOT my hands while I’m talking, hugging so tight my friends when I see them they have to ask me to stop, eating pop corn as if I was the cookie monster, smiling in the metro when everybody looks grumpy (got more than a smile back thanks to that^^),  singing in the street with my nephew (he’s a good singer) as if we were performing a concert, making my students laugh (best way to make them learn and I make their day better and lighter), enjoying at its maximum things I like, making sure I keep them in my daily life.

I may look like a crazy person if you’ve read them all together… but don’t picture me laughing out loud while eating pop corn and moving my hands running towards my friends to hug them in the metro. It’s not like that. But feel what you do, enjoy it. I try to keep in mind those things are very important. So I guess that, when someone tells me “you may think it’s silly but I like….” or “I never tell this but I love…. ” don’t be shy, don’t think it’s not important. Don’t stop doing it for what others may say. It makes you happy, it IS important.

In my photography it feeds the best moments of the making off… to relax and feel your body. Every small centimeter of your skin. Being happy helps to feel more confident, and although my photographs tend to be melancholic, that is just my artistic approach.

Don’t think you’re silly, you know you’re not. I know I’m not.

These are not the best photographs ever, but they created a great atmosphere, led to other better shots and, more important, they are remembered with a smile :)

He took this one on his “jumping-style”:

Of course, I always try to catch those fun moments in my weddings. They are things you’re not thinking about but they will bring the best memories when you look at. Memories of happiness. And THAT we should NOT forget.

Happy Thursday!

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Silly things are important.

  1. karcherry says:

    Fun and funny! Your post was a great way to start the morning.

  2. Rosy says:

    Very interesting blog ….I love your blog and nice photographs.

  3. Carey Povey says:

    “I may look like a crazy person if you’ve read them all together… but don’t picture me laughing out loud while eating pop corn and moving my hands running towards my friends to hug them in the metro.” That’s my favourite bit :) funny mental picture. And you’re so right. I love fishing and making a huge mess while baking a cake and eating the left over mixture out of the bowl while the cake is in the oven, so that’s what I shall do. Very inspiring. And I love your photos. Care free and happy :)

    • Emma Espejo says:

      HAHA! Glad you enjoyed that part!^^
      hmmm I LOVE baking a cake and eating the left over mixture out of the bowl! best part of the process!! Thanks for reminding me! Do that, do all you like!! (but not all at the same time ;))
      Have a beautiful day!

  4. ceciliag says:

    What a fabulous page. loved your wedding shot. it is a wonderful thing to Know when you are happy, so many people forget to just grin and Know it! c

  5. Mrs. Sasu says:

    You are absolutely right! I love to be silly and make a fool of myself. Laughing and happiness are key elements in our lives and I think that sometimes we should take ourselves a little less serious.
    Great post! I really enjoy reading you. :)

  6. And another post to make me smile; thanks for the updates, keep the good work up. Oh, and may I share what I enjoy: watching my nephews play ice hockey. Nothing quite like two little kids under the age of 7 running after a black little disc, trying to be faster than all the other under-7s ;)

  7. Silly things are what makes us to be unique the way we are. Eating the lefto ver mixture and then smelling the recently baked cake, quoting songs in the middle of a conversation because someone said a piece of it, doodling (aint it a nice word?) while you talk on the phone and so, so many things you don’t even notice doing them because they’re tiny details and parts of you. It is curious that sometimes you have to stop and carefully think about the funny stuff you do on your everyday life… Anyway, thanks for being who you are, thanks for your writing and thanks for your bear-hugs. (I hope to receive one when we see each other any time soon!).

    • Emma Espejo says:

      doodling…. ^^
      the quoting songs reminded me of making strange voices and even accents. I LOVE doing that lately!! haha When I ask something I always make this throaty voice like “huh huh” (hard to tell writing about it haha)
      I do sometimes think about this things… I started thinking they are normal (well… THEY ARE!) but some of my students look at me with a face. Grown ups react with a smile, that’s all I need :)

      Thank YOU for being you, will give you a bear-hug soon!!!!

  8. ramaink says:

    My sister-in-law and I, we have a way of greeting each other, in person or over the phone. We start with whazzup…and then just aaa…..aaa…yeaaaah…which goes on for at least a minute or two. It never fails to make us laugh. And it doesn’t matter where we are, at the library, at the stores…Needless to say, it raises a few eyebrows but who cares? It makes us happy. :D
    Its all about the silly things. Always.
    Love the post! The photos are awesome!

    • Emma Espejo says:

      Brilliant!!! hahahaha I LOVE those personal/private greetings or “names” to the loved ones^^ Love to have that, too!! Who cares what others think! poor them they don’t have this tiny things in their lives!!
      Thanks for sharing your “silly moments”!^^
      Hugs!

  9. João H Duarte says:

    That might have made it to post of the week for me :)
    Silly almost always means happy!

  10. squiikiwois says:

    I cannot agree more :)
    Doesn’t matter what people may thing of what you like or love as silly, but so long it’s something that you can identify with and is part of you, then there’s no need to be shy or sorry about it. There is absolutely nothing silly about it. In my humble opinion, people who like to judge what’s silly or not, are the silly ones who can’t be honest of who they are and what they like; I actually think they don’t know themselves very well either.
    Thanks for sharing this Marta.

  11. fivecats says:

    For “not the best photographs”, they are a very good set.

  12. Reblogged this on This Is What I Think……. and commented:
    Sometimes silly is all we have…. :-)

  13. Pingback: Good old times. | The Lonely Walkers Blog

Leave a Reply

