Books&windows.

Once, one of my teachers in university said that whenever she got into a house without books she felt there was something missing. That house lacked something.

I agreed.

The other day I was getting ready to leave and while searching my earrings I hit accidentally one of the few columns of books spread all over my place. And I thought “I have too many books” (how could I think that? In any case, it should be I don’t have room enough!) And that sentence pronounced years ago came back to my head. And then I thought (this is how my mind works, jumping from one idea to another) that in my perfect house I must have huge windows and lots and lots of books. That’s heaven for a book lover and a photographer. Because, if you think about it, books are windows!

Both touch, illuminate, caress, comfort, show new worlds, let some space to the imagination, show, reflect, decorate, let some light in, help to see things differently and, sometimes, let you find yourself in them.

(film. 2010. that pile became two doubled size very soon)

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Literature, Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books&windows.

  1. Love these pics and I agree you need books. I also have far too many and have had to stuff them in a cupboard, I’d love my own library!

    • Emma Espejo says:

      I’m glad to see I’m not alone on this! But books must be out! you should show them!! to remind you all the worlds you can visited or you already visited. My perfect house will have a HUGE window and a whole wall covered with books ^^ (not far from now, must say!)

  2. I completely agree. But now that people are buying e readers there will be more room, but I like real books better.

    Great photos thanks for sharing.

  3. que fotos más bonitas y que inspiradoras. te felicito emma!

  4. steven says:

    I love your photos and your writing. Regarding books, I sold off all my household articles, art, and books, when I moved to the islands of S.E. Asia. Now I scour the neighboring cafes and resorts for book. I am never without half a dozen good books by authors from around the world, many new to me. It is a great joy, reading in my hammock, looking out over the tropical gardens, or the sunkissed sea.

Leave a Reply

