Slow down

I’ve recently read an interesting article by wedding photographer Jose Villa about some advice for young photographers entering the business. I love Jose Villa‘s work, and I love his approach to photography, because it’s all about enjoying what you’re doing, and taking the best from it:

We’re so programmed for the go, go, go part of the business, we’re not connecting with the passion.

I approached photography as a hobby, something I did in my spare time, and since the very beginnings it’s always been a joy. The act of taking a photo for me is like a bursting of positive energy rushing through my spine. Passion is what ignites the mechanism. Without it there’s no point in going on.

Jose Villa also said something that I cannot but totally agree with: shoot slowly and thoughtfully. With the advent of digital photography we have become so used to shooting thousands of pictures thinking that maybe we’ll get a good one among the tons we’ve taken. But we’ve lost the ability to think before shooting, to take our time to frame and then – only then – press the shutter.

This is something that happens to me sometimes. But it feels good to slow down and take my time. Exercise my mind and my eyes to see differently, to look for the good frame and the good light. It takes time and patience.

I often come back to the same places and force myself to see them differently, to look for the shot I had not seen before. And no matter the tool I have in my hands. It could be either my camera or my mobile phone, the point is to try to change my vision of the place and of the people interacting in it (if there are any).

Photography must firstly be driven by joy and passion. Exactly as Jose Villa explained:

What makes you a good photographer is not just picking up a camera. It’s getting to know your client, it’s feeling everything you do.

Then all the rest will come.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in About Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slow down

  1. Good advice Marta. I’ve often heard the suggestion to use a tripod, to force yourself to take your time and consider the viewpoint and composition. It’s good advice, but I’ve never seen why a tripod is part of the solution, the important point is to slow down and think, consider. I’ve often wasted time rushing around trying to find a good image, only to find that if I stand still, the image comes to me.

    • Marta Favro says:

      I’ve never heard about using a tripod in order to think more carefully about your shots, and I’m not that convinced how it could really help as I imagine myself struggling with the tripod and missing what’s going on around me! :)
      I’m happy to know you’ve found some good advice. And I love when you wrote that the image comes to you, I think this is so true!
      Thanks for comment!

  2. echamdikya says:

    Agreed with you. I recently bought myself an old used SLR Zenith 11. What I found out was that, I really took my time in considering the lights and composition of my shots rather than ‘shoot first, think later’. In which, I did that so very often when I’m with my DSLR.
    So I guess I really learned something about being ‘slowing-down’ in taking photos.

    • Marta Favro says:

      I’d very much like to shoot film, as not only does it make you think more about your shots but it’s also a completely different approach and feeling. Happy to know you’re taking your time and enjoy shooting film! :)
      Thanks for sharing your experience!

Leave a Reply

