Through

I remember an eleven-year-old me during one of my first English classes. That day we were learning how to give directions: turn left, go straight ahead, cross the road, etc. Until I saw that word, through. And I immediately thought: I will never ever be able to remember how to spell and write it!

I felt both amazed and discouraged in front of such a “complex” word, because I really believed I was not going to learn it. But it had a sound that I liked, it was thrilling to learn new things, and it was challenging. I loved taking English classes, I loved English (I still do!), and I had promised myself that one day I would speak and read it as it were my native language.

Years later, Emma and I discovered a strong passion for photography. We shared knowledge and experiences, successes and failures, ideas and dreams, then created The Lonely Walkers photo project and this blog. Not satisfied, we are working to make photography our full time job, learning day after day how to improve our skills and to create a business starting from a big and quite terrifying zero.

It’s terrifying and hard, but challenging and thriving. And this zero always makes me think of the word through. Because that word for me is a symbol of everything that seems impossible, but that in the end you can reach. You need to work extremely hard, stay focused on what you really want to achieve, accept failures and take the best from them.

Will we succeed? The question is still open at the moment. Just like that eleven-year-old me we are learning and practicing and working hard. We do feel discouraged at times, doubts and problems are always there reminding us that maybe won’t do it, but there’s a passion too, the will to do our best, and make the impossible possible.

We do believe we will get through… just one step at a time.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Through

  1. A Pakistani Boy says:

    Amen to that!

    Your blog is great. And your photographs are to die for. And if you keep working with the passion i see in your pics, the you will definitely learn what the word “through” really is :)

    • Marta Favro says:

      Oh thank you so much! Your words are so uplifting, and give us hope. :) We count on learning the word “through” soon… ;)

  2. A.M says:

    Amazing picture….the way you click pictures and associate stuff with them makes it more meaningful….hope you soon come “through” all your obstacles :-)

  3. Marta Favro says:

    Thank you so much for your lovely words A.M.! We do hope to make it through! :D

  4. Pingback: Free photography guides | Thelonelywalkers' Blog

Leave a Reply

