Winter Torino?

Since we started The Lonely Walkers project back in March (or was it end February?) 2010, Marta and I decided to have a summer version (so we spent our summer holidays between Barcelona and Torino) and a winter version.

At the beginning of this season we were looking forward to meet again in Torino and Barcelona so we started planning dates and flights. I thought that the first weeks of December were the perfect timing for me since I’m going to be an auntie again in Christmas and I don’t want to miss it, plus, there is a bank holiday either in Spain and Turin  those weeks. Turin, here I come!! :D

But… my happiness was hit by a change of plans. Airlines have decided to make the connection between the two cities more difficult, and those flights we could buy have disappeared or diminished their frequency, or simply gone to unaffordable prices… :(

Bye bye to Torino in December

Marta always tells me Torino is rain and wet pavement, low temperatures and warm tea cups. Cold, cold, cold… That is her favourite portray of Turin. At the moment my Turin is warm and a bit deserted, with some brushes of tourists here and there, and many, MANY closed shops.

Till that changes, my photographs of Turin will remain with people with light clothes, (almost) no rain at all, and very empty streets. But hey! I say “that’s another face of Turin, isn’t it?”

Anyway, I’m sad that what we are trying to make closer, airlines are moving it away. Let’s hope we can make a winter The Lonely Walkers for the beginning of 2012! :D

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Photographie, Torino - Barcelona and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Torino?

  1. nico says:

    You might find some cheap flights to Milano, then there’s a bus taking you directly from milano airport to Torino for something like 15-20 euros… (plus I’m having my exhibition here in December… just saying ^^)

Leave a Reply

