Different street photography… same streets?

Street Photography is one of the most recurrent styles in photography in order to get/find inspiration. Its simplicity in going out, looking around and shoot your camera make it too easy.

Along my way in photography I’ve found, tasted, and seen different kinds of street photography and lucky me, I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to talk to those photographers who understood street photography (or their photography) in just one way.

But there’s no just one way in this photographic style… it’s the background for so many others that fill our vision and culture: Portraiture, Fashion Photography and even Wedding Photography are in most cases inspired by Street Photography. How is that?

The answer is, like always, in how we see it, how we enjoy the street. And that will be translated in most cases in how we enjoy photography.

(Bath, August 2011)

This summer, I had the opportunity to see two street photographers doing their job (I even made a joke of one of them about how he takes his photographs… you can see it in my blog) and I was feeling it as another language in photography. Their style was completely different to mine. Then I was asked “What is your type of street Photography?”. Before the need to “tag” my vision, I went out, alone and tried to understand what I do (an exercise very helpful to know yourself, but don’t rationalize everything, we do what we feel in most of cases) and remembered so many conversations I had with Marta last year while walking the streets of Barcelona and Torino to feed our The Lonely Walkers portfolio… Taking photographs of our cities, portraying them. Is that what I do? I guess… I like portraits so I guess that my goal is portraying… either a person, a street, a city…

(Turin, August 2010. I need to feed my portfolio of Turin, soon ;) )

What is your street photography about?

I know a few photographers who feed their portfolio with streets and different visions, and I know they read this blog. We’d like to make a call to all of you and recreate a map of all those different styles of street photography, may it be a shy one or a very intruding one, dedicating a post to each of you, your words and photographs.

Anyone interested? :)

Contact us in thelonelywalkers@gmail.com and tell us about your street photography.

(Bristol, August 2011)

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Different street photography… same streets?

  1. Pingback: Street Photography: it’s all about the feeling. | Thelonelywalkers' Blog

  2. We are thankful to you for sharing such informative post with us. The street photography is really a modern and inspiring photography. Thanks again and keep sharing.

Leave a Reply

