Hard work and smiles

“DSLR cameras are hard work!”

Some days ago I heard a shop assistant saying this sentence to a woman who wanted to buy a new camera and couldn’t decide between a bridge and a DSLR.  I was standing in a queue, waiting to buy a new lens (a Nikkor 24-70 mm f/2.8) and could’t help smiling. The shop assistant saw me and smiled back, recognizing in me a photo-aholic.

Taking photos for me is like a drug;  it’s electricity running through my spine. And yes, it is also – and mostly – hard work. It’s an investment not only of money, but of time, patience, dedication. That sentence made me smile because it made me think of my very first days with my Nikon D60, when reading the manual and trying to understand all its various functions, learning the basics of exposition, aperture and ISO. It made me think of the discouragement I felt when all those notions seemed to be too much complicated and when seeing the poor results I obtained with my first shots. But it also made me think of my stubborness and will to understand, to try to find a way to produce good images, the practice and practice and practice until I had found what I was looking for.

It’s been and still is hard work. Very hard. Practice is constant, and so are experimentation and research. The equipment has radically changed since those days and it obviously helps, but the spirit has stayed the same: curiosity and fun are the main ingredients. I certainly feel more self confident with my photography now, and I am ready to face the upcoming challenges that I’ll encounter along this road. With my eyes focused and a big smile on my lips.

It’s hard work, but when it’s done with a smile it doesn’t seem so hard after all.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

