Corners of Exilles

Apart from the sad events that took place, something good has also happened in these last weeks. The first piece of news is that I have finally dived into the universe of full frames and I am absolutely happy with this choice. A new world is unveiling and I am so curious and keen to explore it more and more. I feel like a child, excited every time I hold my new camera, smiling foolishly and rejoicing at the crisp sound of the shutter closing.

The second piece of news, is that I’ve been a bit busy with my photographic group as we are organizing an exhibition of about 100 photos. Unfortunately we had very little time to prepare it all, starting from the photos to be taken to the small details such as how to exhibit the pictures and all the materials needed for that. It will take place from May 15th to June 25th in a charming and historical place on the mountains, the Certosa di Montebenedetto (Charterhouse of Montebenedetto).

The theme chosen for the exhibition created me some problems: Corners of the valley. We had to present photos of the valley we live in (Valle di Susa, for those interested to know), and I had very few and none that I liked. So I decided to narrow down the theme, focus on some of the material I already had, and work to create my own story in 10 photographs. I knew most of the other members of the group would show landscape and naturalistic shots, so I decided to choose one small village on the mountains called Exilles and show a more “urban” photography.

I had one day only to create my story, and the weather was awful. Dark and heavy clouds greeted me that morning, and it started raining in the afternoon. The result was soggy clothes and a series of photographs perfect for black and white. I could have done better, of course, but I don’t like to dwell much on what I could have done. I’d rather concentrate on the work done, on the experience made and the lessons learnt, confidently looking at the future.

I had them printed on Saturday and I am very happy with the result. It’s a little exhibition, but I am proud of it. I can’t wait for it to start and see everybody’s works hanging in such a beautiful place.

About Marta Favro

Full time employee in an online marketing agency, photographer and traveller (not necessary in that order). Graduated in English Literature. Passionate of long walks in the Nature, cats, books, music.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Photographie, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Corners of Exilles

  1. enzoandi says:

    I love the photos! Your blog has inspired me to start a photography blog. Looking through your photos and reading your musings has made me realise how much I love both writing and photography! Thank you both for the inspiration you have given me!

    • Marta Favro says:

      Awww, thank you so much! We are so glad that this blog has inspired you so much. Good luck for this new project of yours, keep being inspired and sharing your works.. words and photographs of course! ;)

  2. Pingback: Meadows (and woods) are the mountaineer’s life | Thelonelywalkers' Blog

  3. Pingback: One year, ten photographs | Thelonelywalkers' Blog

Leave a Reply

