About colours and b&w feelings in colour.

Sorry, this title doesn’t make too much sense but it’s more or less what I’m trying to achieve. I’ve declared myself a b&w photographer hundreds of times. It’s not that I don’t like colours (I didn’t like editing them) but I feel b&w represents better what I try to explain in my pictures: a sensation, a feeling, the soft texture of the skin, the soft and shy meeting of light and shadow and they melt together… That is the magic of photography for me, what tells a story, the way I like to tell a story… being subtle but moving…

Colour has been a distraction since there’re too many and it kills the subtleties of an image. Must say I haven’t been able to process it well until now, but with my new mac and the pictures I had to edit from one of my latest sessions, I had to dare with colour, first, because I love my new screen and all the things I can do with it, and second, because I was shooting Carla and she is colour herself! She deserved happy colourful pictures.

Once that was decided it was my turn to dare with some processing I had never dare to do. Light was too bright, that shouldn’t be a problem if you decide what kind of pictures you want to do and once you settle the mood in the photoshoot. This was just a test and a first meeting, more to come, many to improve…

So black&white pictures create that mood I love so much, but colour can perform the same effect with the right tones and light.

Daring with a new processing of colour (I must admit I’m too much conservative on colours… I prefer the essence of the texture and light, much more “hmmmm”)

 

And, finally, a normal and more faithful processing.

 

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to About colours and b&w feelings in colour.

  1. Right Thinking says:

    Do you maintain a darkroom, or is that an antiquated process now that everything is digital? I worked as a photo lab technician when I was in college in the late 80’s and dodging, burning, fixer, and stopper were tools of the trade. Most of that stuff seems silly now with Photo Shop or Gimp. Agree?

    • Emma Espejo says:

      I have done very little darkroom work in my life but I don’t think it’s antiquated or unnecessary! quite the opposite! it’s the background of photography and where everything comes from. It’s like if books disappear because we can read digital ebooks… they are different things to get to the “same” end. And of course I’d love to do more film but at the moment I’m doing digital. I hope as soon as I can afford it and I learn the technique much better I’d love to do film. On the other hand, I think digital offers new possibilites and opens new doors… but we must learn and know how to cross them… because digital has meant to photography that it’s easy to get into photography, but that doesn’t mean it’s easier to do it. Not working in a lab any more? Thanks for your comment!!

      • Right Thinking says:

        The photo lab was just an odd job to make money while I was in college. I studied for a year at the University of Barcelona back in ’91. I have very fond memories of Spain. I loved the koi ponds at the Gran Via campus.

      • Emma Espejo says:

        Oh really!! That was my uni campus! the historic building of the University of Barcelona. Glad you have nice memories! It is a very special place indeed! ^_^ Those fishes are the touch of colour together with the trees… they’re so envied they don’t have to study…

  2. Em’ the photo of the girl jumping is absolutely stunning!! love it :D

    you’re learning so fast these days!

Leave a Reply

