About investment and free time.

One of the best things I’ve done for my business so far is investment. I invested in me, of course, by giving almost all my time, and I invested almost all I have in new gear to be able to work better.

I recently bought a new Macbook Pro since it was almost impossible to work on my laptop (it was just two years old but it couldn’t bear what I needed to do). My new mac has made me enjoy processing again and even more because everything looks different and I can control colours and tones much better now.

My second investment, not that big but not less important, has been a 50mm 1.4 for my 5D mark ii. I’ve done all I could with my 50mm 1.8 but let’s face it, it’s a pretty poor lens, and mine was very old (it was taking too much time to focus, lately) Some ask me why a 50mm if I already had one and why a fix lens instead of zoom? Every photographer needs to find his/her own voice through the camera and I know I could photograph almost my entire life with a 50mm. I wouldn’t mind adding a 85mm and a 35mm (got the 28mm already) to my collection but I’ll wait some time and will rent them till I get my own.

What are your favourite lenses and why?

Pretty “technical” post, I’m adding some pics I recently took with the new lens. Sunday wasn’t the best day to go out but so it was on thursday! And thanks to my job I can “recreate” little “sunday” moments every time I want… This time I walked the city and made a picnic next to the sea! This reminds me how much I love Spring!

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in About Photography, Personal thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About investment and free time.

  1. Beautiful photos Em’

    A great lens, and well used. I especially love the 1st photo in the post, the colours and DOF are perfect.

    My favourite lenses are all primes, can’t be beaten :)

Leave a Reply

