Introducing myself to Torino.

I must admit I haven’t been to Torino as many times as Marta has come to Barcelona. In fact, last August it was my first time in Piemonte.

When I visit a place for the first time I get out of myself. I feel so overwhelmed and inspired by all the stimulation and new information I have to process that, honestly, I don’t talk too much or take too many pictures. For me, discovering a new place is the same as introducing myself, I do that with respect and without too much intrusion. You walk the streets, you try to understand them, not judge them, you talk with the city and in the end the city shows its most beautiful face.

Torino was a nice surprise to me. I had never thought or created any idea of how it looked or what the mood was. I was a complete stranger and I rather love feeling that (yeah, I do some research about the places I want to go to  but I don’t want to “guess” the place’s mood. I like the city talking to me.) So the first time I walked out Porta Nuova station and I see the city I’m about to meet. I start walking feeling bad because my camera is inside my bag, not in my hands, but you don’t start taking pictures of someone you’ve just met, do you? Besides, my pictures are my feelings, I don’t know what I feel, yet. So, I’m walking the streets, with the best guide I could have, the one who has the same feelings towards Torino as I have towards Barcelona, so that makes perfect sense to understand how she’s feeling and to write my own blank page. I’m walking the streets amazed by this new place and I start thinking “this is not what I thought.” Of course I didn’t have a preconceived idea but really… it wasn’t what I had in mind when thinking about an Italian city. I try to reeducate myself and think “well, Barcelona isn’t what it’s thought to be a Spanish city either.” So I start enjoying Torino’s streets because of their personality, their mood, their hidden places to show. And I think “This is very similar to some streets in Paris!” (sorry my dear Paris, I still like you very much)

I felt like people there is not aware of the secret treasure in that city. I felt people was too immersed in their problems (yes… not life but problems) that they couldn’t see the beauties I was enjoying. They were simply streets and light. Then, I felt a wave of warm breeze while realizing I was looking at that city with the eyes of a tourist. I was able to enjoy it and start over my own tendency to look at the city with disagreement. Turin still had many things to show me.

I don’t want to get too much into this making this text much longer, but I want to stress something I appreciated. Turin is in Piemonte, the northern region in Italy. It has its own personality and culture and I could see that. Me, as a catalan citizen with an own culture and language apart from Spanish, I appreciate that, because I could feel Italy is much more than what we think it is (out of clichés), the same way I feel my own country, Spain, a very rich one with many and different cultures and languages. Italy showed me one of her faces, in this case one that speaks Piemontese and lives at the feet of the Alps.

And to end this very first chapter of “my Torino” I add a picture, a very “postcard” one, which I won’t include in The Lonely Walkers’ project but, still, it’s one of its faces.

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Personal thoughts, Round trip tickets, Torino - Barcelona and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing myself to Torino.

  1. Alberto says:

    Gorgeous picture. The look of the bridge reminds me a lot of Prague.

    When I travel I just have a vague plan but am always open for improvisation. I have found that I have had the most fun with improvisation throughout the trip. I really enjoyed the post. Keep it up. I am fascinated by your travels.

    • Emma Espejo says:

      Thanks Alberto!! (are you Spanish?)

      It’s the same here. When I travel I just start walking letting the streets guide me in an undetermined route. I discovered many places doing this and I got to know all the cities I’ve visited pretty well. When I visited Paris I was alone with my thoughts and with no fixed schedule… I started walking wondering where each “left” or “right” would lead me. Funny story is that I got to a very small street called “Rue Quincampoix”… well, if you’ve seen Amelie you’ll guess why I smiled ^^
      Thanks for your comment!!

      • Alberto says:

        Well, I am latino. I speak spanish. Actually last year I went to visit Barcelona. I found out that I can only conversationally understand the language but I could not read it very well.

        I have seen Amelie. It was a long time ago. Did you take the Amelie Pair Tour?

      • Emma Espejo says:

        say hello next time you come over!! :)

        No, I didn’t take any tour. I never take tours, I just start walking… I remember I started to walk a warm july afternoon, stopped to have a coffee at a terrace and when left the cafe I realized I was next to Centre Pompidou. It was a nice discovery because I had been walking all the afternoon with no destination and found myself THERE… then, very close to it there was the street… and I looked at the name because it had nice painting on the wall. I will post some pictures some day :)

Leave a Reply

