MIRRORS: Alba Danés

1986. Girona, Catalunya

  • Who are you?

Perhaps I’m the same as you. I’m sometimes angry with the world and some other I’m amazed to see you. I’m also a journalist who doesn’t believe in journalism and who lives with no tv but who admires the work some journalists do.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

I discovered photography in the University. The photojournalist Sandra Balsells was my teacher and she forced us to shoot film and taught u show to develop in black&White when we all had a digital camera. We could say I discover magic there, but, above all, she taught us how to express with photography what we have inside and since I found out I couldn’t stop looking at the world through a lense of a film camera.

  • What do you write between lines?

I work with projects and each one of them has a specific meaning, although, after two years studying photography I’ve realized that I tend to tell stories where the individual, with his own mistakes and weakness, is the main character even when he is not physically present in the image.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

I can only say that in my mirror there’s people and spaces that tell stories. I think one should interpret the world in a picture and thus create his/her own mirror from my images. In other words, I suggest, you interpret!

  • Define you in 5 words.

ANALOGUE: My personal project are only with film cameras now, most of them medium format. I learnt how to look and discover with this technique and it’s not me if it’s digital.

AUSTERE: For instance: Why two if I’m fine with one? Or Why new if it’s still working?

SMILING: I try to live and look at life with a smile, but what really makes me happy is drawing smiles on others’ faces.

SLEEPY: I can sleep for hours, everywhere, at any time, with noises, etc.

CRITICAL: Firstly, I’m self-critical and not proud. Once overcome, I like being critical of every injustice around me.

  • Define you in 5 pictures.

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“True, clear and brief”. Actually, this is the name of a song by Mishima which could be a quote to keep in mind.

“Stop the world! I want to get off!” by Mafalda. (Originally said by Groucho Marx)

  • Recommend us a photographer.

AnotherMountainMan, Jeff Wall, Walker Evans, Lara Almarcegui, Xavier Ribas, Carey Young, Bleda and Rosa, … and some others younger like BenoitP, Roger Serrat-Calvó, Salva López or Lola Guerrera.

  • Your motto?

“Pots fugir de tot menys de tu mateixa”

(You can run away from everything but yourself”)

  • Where can we see you?

http://www.albadanes.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/albadanes/

http://www.damuntdavall.blogspot.com/

http://www.facebook.com/albadanes

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MIRRORS: Alba Danés

  1. Jonathan says:

    Thank’s for sharing Alba :) a beautiful read.

  2. Lakia Gordon says:

    I really enjoyed your post! You have inspired me to create something like this! Also, I love your quote: You can run away from everything but yourself– SO true :)

  3. Robert says:

    Hey that’s me!

  4. Carmen says:

    I love the one in the forest, beautiful! I will make sure to check out your webpage. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

