MIRRORS: Beatriz González

1983. Madrid, España.

  • Who are you?

I try to be smile… I think the main thing to be happy in this life is to want it, so if there’s an option, it’s much better being positive.

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

Above all, the fact that I always lived surrounded by huge photo albums my father used to raise by the minute. And after that, I guess it was being aware of the fact that a photograph is much more than the memory of a moment… and many people influenced that, very good friends, who taught me there’re many different ways to look at the world.

  • What do you write between lines?

A lot. I almost could say “everything”. What I most value in a picture is its capacity to tell stories, to talk to you about the portayed things either if it is a person, a place or a thing. There is a lot of myself in my pictures, of my history or what I’d like it to be… but there’re also many inventions so others can read their own story.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

Stages, actors without script, scenes from a mute film… or perhaps it’s just a frozen moment… but I rather using my imagination. Always.

  • Define you in 5 words.

SMILE: Giving smiles is free!

CHARACTER: Every balance depends on two poles and I have a “b side”, too.

HOPE: It moves everything… Thrill and hope against laziness.

COMPLEXITY: I’m not easy to know, like many, I guess.

ARCHITECTURE: I don’t know if that is something that defines me… but it’s one of the most important things to me, because it’s what leads many other things.

  • Define you in 5 pictures (yours).

 

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“I am I and my circumstances” by Ortega y Gasset, which I translate as “I am I and my contradictions.”

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

Pff, this is a very difficult issue for me because I must admit I don’t have a too wide knowledge on photography… I look around me and to the people close to me, much more than to the “big” photographers, which I should do. I think that’s because I see it as a closer goal to reach, rather than the masters of photography. And I can’t start mentioning the people I admire because I could never stop!

  • Your motto?

Where there’s a will there’s a way.

  • Where can we see you?

Walking through the streets of Madrid or at any other spot in the world, who knows! :)

www.mycontradiction.com

http://www.flickr.com/photos/contra_diction/

(Do you want to be a “lonely walker”? We want to interview you! Write us at thelonelywalkers[at]gmail.com!!)

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

