Fridays are for readers: Waiting for Godot

It’s been some time now that I’m feeling like re-reading Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett.  And I don’t want to add too much about the text because it’s so powerful and meaningful that I rather letting you enjoy every single word and every single silence.

It’s a short play but a very intense one, where we can find ourselves “just waiting”… waiting for something to happen in the play, waiting for something relevant to happen…

But what is it that has to happen? What are we waiting for?

Nothing happens… we make it happen.

To Estragon’s “Nothing to be done” I say: “Everything to be done.”

I recommend the reading and enjoying the play, and, if you want to add a visual context, I strongly recommend 2001’s version directed by Michael Lindsay-Hogg.

(I don’t consider this to be a spoiler, you’ll know why, but if you don’t want to watch it, you can skip it)

“Well? Shall we go?”

“Yes, let’s go”

(personal notes: it’s not absurd and… as Beckett said: “If by Godot I had meant God I would have said God and not Godot.”)

About Emma Espejo

Graduated from English Philology in the University of Barcelona, I wanted to study a phd on Literature but ended dedicating my life to Photography. Full time teacher of English, and full time photographer (a passion can't be neglected). Working on my photography and making other people happy with my photographs makes me happy, as well as a good conversation, reading a good book and watching a good tv series. I'm a reader, dreamer, lover, photographer, writer, thinker... a little bit of everything.
This entry was posted in Fridays are for readers, Literature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

