White beauty

The first snow has come yesterday morning. I woke up and looked out of my window and saw tiny and delicate snowflakes falling from the sky. It’s still Autumn, but Winter is slowly moving here.

I remember as a child our teacher at school always telling us not to look at the snow, otherwise it would have stopped. This was obviously an excuse to gain our attention, and I knew it back then, but this idea – the snow being shy –  has never abandoned me.

It was with awe and fascination that I got out of the house with my camera and went photographing. I had to take some test photos of the place at one of the locations where I’m going to shoot for my cousin’s wedding next week, so I took this chance and not limited my work to something pretty technical, but immersed into this white atmosphere.

What I love more than anything else when it snows is the silence. Almost surreal. Every sound softens, the colours too soften and melt into shades of white. I love the peace, and how this spinning world stops for a moment and takes a deep breath. And I take a deep breath.

I dipped into the whiteness. I disappeared, but the more I disappeared into that surreal landscape the more and more I was present with myself and focused. To stop for a moment, the time of a “click” of the shutter, letting all the thoughts go, and truly feel. The crisp breeze on my face, the delicate light caressing my retina, and the silence of nature filling my soul.

I begged the snow’s pardon for intruding and stealing my photos. When I got back home the snowflakes had ceased their light fall, but I guess they were not angry at me. Only shy, like every beauty who is not aware of how charming and fascinating it can be.

Marta Favro

This entry was posted in Personal thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

