Mirrors: Nicolas Boria

1984. Paris, France.

  • Who are you?

I ask myself this question pretty often.

I’m passionate, and perfectionist. A dangerous mix !

I’m a friendly loner, and a lonely friend. I’m a hardcore music fan who loves silence, a rational dreamer, and an arty scientist. I love my books as much as my computer. I enjoy creating a beautiful and profound image as much as discovering and proving a mathematical theorem.

I love red wine, and red meat. I love coffee and cigarets.

I love endless conversations.

I like being smart, but I also love to feel the endlessness of my ignorance.

To many, I guess I’m just “you know… this guy with the hat and the beard” ^^

  • What is it that took you to see the world through a lens?

In the beginning, I’d say time on my hands and money on my bank account.

Also, I have always loved to play with the focusing ring, and see how it can change a single view into a wide range of different images. I first experienced it as a child with my mom’s camera, and since then, it has always amazed me.

With time and practice, I got to understand what an amazingly powerful tool a camera really is. I moved from digital to film photography pretty fast, and discovered the great pleasure of developing and printing my own images : the smell of chemicals, the darkness, the red light, the silence. Darkroom is really a place out of time and space, now I need it like a child needs his hiding place.

  • What do you write between lines?

I’d like to answer that what’s between the lines in there for a reason, so I’ll try not get too much into detail… My art feeds on unanswered questions, on great mysteries :

Why am I here ? what made me what I am ?

Who should I curse when things go bad, or thank when things go well ?

Fate ? God ? Chance ? People around me ? Myself ?

I live in a world of questions. Questions to which no clear answer can ever be formulated : answers to such questions can only be felt, but never explained. They can be heard in the silence. They can be seen with eyes shut.

With my photos, I try to depict all of these : questions, emotions, intuitions, dreams…

  • What can we see in your mirror?

I’m not depicting what I see, only what I feel.

If Art is like a mirror, then mine is not meant to reflect anything, but rather to be crossed, to take you to the other side. My pictures are rather silent, surreal, mysterious, and dark. They’re not dark because I’m a sad person, actually I’m not ! No, they’re dark because darkness is a proper place to hide things… To me, darkness in photography is like silence in a conversation. Silence can hide secrets. Beautiful secrets, terrible secrets. In intimacy, silence can also be meaningful, it gives room to speak the unspeakable.

  • Define you in 5 words.

INTUITION : I’m a very intuitive person. I believe intuitions are like keys, although I couldn’t really say what kind of door or chest they’re meant to open…

ART : I love nearly all forms of art, and more generally anything that can give me this “esthetic emotion”, deep inside my guts. In this sense, I guess words whispered by a lover, or said by a friend can also be considered as some form of art. I was told once that – if any – the sense of life lies in emotions. I believe it’s true.

INTIMACY : The only room for deep happiness. Alone, with a lover, or with a few friends. I need music -among other reasons- because of its capacity to make you feel alone, even in a crowded place. I also find it beautiful how a single look can make you totally intimate with a perfect stranger.

SCIENCE : My job, and one of my passions. I find there’s beauty in it.

RANDOM : Randomness can give you the best or the worst… when it gives me the best, I find it somehow much more valuable. I want and like randomness in my life, I like to get lost, to discover places and people, I also like to add some randomness to my photographic work.

  • Define you in 5 pictures.

(untitled – Somnambule(s) (Sleepwalker(s)) series)

(Le Fil (The String) – Nimbes (Nimbus) series)

(Ajna – Nimbes (Nimbus) series)

(Intimité (Intimacy))

(void me – series in progress)

 

  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“The notion of secrecy is central to western literature. You may say, the whole idea of character is defined by people holding specific information which for various reasons, sometimes perverse, sometimes noble, they are determined not to disclose. “ The Reader, 2009.

“This shit life… we must chuck some things. We must chuck them… in this shit life. There’s always looking after. “ The Weatherman, 2004.

“These are mediocre times, Mrs Dunn. People are starting to lose hope. It’s hard for many to believe there are extraordinary things inside themselves as well as others. I hope you can keep an open mind.” Unbreakable, 2000.

” Surréalisme, n.m. : Automatisme psychique pur par lequel on se propose d’exprimer, soit verbalement, soit par écrit, soit de tout autre manière, le fonctionnement réel de la pensée. Dictée de la pensée, en l’absence de tout contrôle exercé par la raison, en dehors de toute préoccupation esthétique ou morale”. André Breton, Manifeste du surréalisme, 1924.

(Surrealism, n. Pure psychic automatism, by which one proposes to express, either verbally, in writing, or by any other manner, the real functioning of thought. Dictation of thought in the absence of all control exercised by reason, outside of all aesthetic and moral preoccupation. André Breton, Manifeste du surréalisme, 1924)

  • Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

Brassaï, Raoul Ubac, Man Ray, André Kertész.

  • Your motto?

I don’t have any.

  • Where can we see you?

I have a thing for night and deserted places. Still, on week-ends, you might see me having coffee and cigaret on a terrace in my beloved 18ème arrondissement (Northern part of Paris), or walking around Saint-Ouen flea market.

www.n-photo.fr

 

(Do you want to be a “lonely walker”? We want to interview you! Write us at thelonelywalkers[at]gmail.com!!)

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

