Mirrors: Marta Favro

1982. Torino, Italy

  • Who are you?

I’m an ordinary person looking for herself, reinventing and reconstructing her life every single day.

  • What is that it took you to see the world through a lens?

I was living a particular and quite negative period of my life, I needed something to occupy my mind with and I re-discovered my interest for photography. Holding a camera in my hands and look through a lens allowed me to focus not only the subjects of my photos but also my life and myself. Then my interest evolved into a passion, and from that moment on my camera and I are inseparable.

  • What do you write between lines?

Love. For lights and shadows, colours, people, little details and vast landscapes, life.

  • What can we see in your mirror?

Every photograph is subject to any interpretation, the author’s and the spectator’s in primis. There’s no fixed view, and that’s what I love in photography and art in general: everyone is free to imagine and see what they like best.

  • Define you in 5 words (write 5 words and make a definition of what each word means to you)

LOVER:  love is the real engine for me. I’m in love with life, its unexpected beauties, and I’m learning to love myself every day.

NATURE: I grew up in the country and my best memories are me running in the woods, the enchanting colours of autumn, the rhythm of the seasons. Nature taught me love and patience, to appreciate silence and solitude, and to understand that everything flows and transforms.

LITERATURE: I dedicated my studies to literature and again it’s a love relationship between me and books. Literature is another way to explore life and human souls, to get to know the world from several perspectives. I now work in a completely different field, but this love has never abandoned me.

PHOTOGRAPHY: together with literature is my way to look at the world, but it’s also my means to stay focused on who I really am or want to be. I look through the lens and I look into myself. Photography is my way to describe myself and life around me, to express my personal vision of the world.

CATS: I adore cats. I love their intelligence, style and class, their apparent indifference and superiority, and above all the unconditional love they can give you, without submission nor degradation but always as your equal. It’s a lesson we should all learn.

  • Define you in 5 pictures (yours)


  • Tell us the quotes that describe you best.

“What is the meaning of life? That was all –  a simple question; one that tended to close in on one with years. The great revelation had never come. The great revelation perhaps never did come. Instead there were little daily miracles, illuminations, matches struck unexpectedly in the dark; here was one.” Virginia Woolf, To The Lighthouse

“Let me fill my pages with words form yours, and yours with words from mine.” Alexander Nemser, The Encyclopedia of the Dead

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Recommend us a photographer (or as many as you want!)

Ansel Adams, Henri Cartier-Bresson

Your motto?

Always follow your heart. You’ll never be mistaken.

Where can we see you?

In each of my photos…

- My Flickr

- TLW tlog

- here on this blog

This entry was posted in Mirrors, Personal thoughts, Photographie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

